Malaprop – ing

Image

After going to work, leaving for a class at school, coming back to work, I was totally spent.

A therapist came into my office. “Do you have a one hole type of hole-puncher?” he asked.

I handed him a stapler. “Here you go!”

He looked at me stupidly. “A hole puncher?”

I nodded still handing it to him.

There was no delicate way to say this, “That’s a stapler.”

“Oh.”

It was odd because I heard him, but my mind just didn’t get it.

It’s like when you say something that you do not mean. It can get a little embarrassing even, especially when you aren’t even close.

“Hi- You left your shoe on my desk? – oh whoops I meant -can I have the clipboard?”

It leaves everyone wondering if English is your first language, or if you are all there- like what are you on?

The nicer of the bunch will just assume you haven’t slept much.

Leave a Reply

