Anxiety Ridden Road Test

Before we left I asked her, “You have the address- right?”

“No- but I am pretty sure I know where it is.”

“Do you have the number to call in case we get lost?”

“No”

And before I knew it we were on the way. I typed into the GPS the city but that was it.

We began the trip to my younger sisters road test.

She was an absolute nervous wreck and she claims she knows directions and maybe she does, but not when she is nervous (which is most of the time).

When she said we needed to go off the wrong exit (which I overruled and explained we are going according to the English woman -on the GPS)

Then we arrived in the city but we had no clue where to go and then she realized she did not know where to go after all.

I alternated between being calm, steady, deadpan; to being frustrated, annoyed and a little angry she didn’t listen to me.

“Oh no they will fail me for practicing in the driving area”

“Breathe- inhale through your nose, exhale through your mouth” I told her.

She didn’t listen to my attempt at calming her; she began the slow shallow breaths very close to hyperventilation.

“Breathe- inhale through your nose, exhale through your mouth” I repeated- in a calming yoga instructor voice.

She looked around panicky

After circling for long enough we figured out where to go (thankfully they had a sign…)

Breathe- inhale through your nose, exhale through your mouth” I repeated peacefully.

The instructor came by – asked me for my license I gave it to her.

“Have a fun time” I chirped to my sister cheerfully.

She looked shocked that I could suggest such a thing.

When I saw her 15 minutes later the smile on her face told all.

Leave a Reply

