Magnesium Deficiency

Image

My head has become scrambled. Fatigue has overwhelmed me, partly because I haven’t been able to sleep due to insomnia.  My brain has become fuzzy, hazy and unclear. I couldn’t follow a clear train of thought. And  I began to have random migraines.

Driving, I usually love putting on music. I don’t put it on low either – but the noise began to annoy me.

Everything began to stress me.

I really did not know what to do with myself.

I tried doing exercise but it simply made me more tired.

I felt like I lost my mojo, my sense of self and it was driving me crazy.

Over the weekend I sat on my couch looking very pale and slightly out of it.

Everyone that knows me asked me what was wrong since no one sees me just sitting there! I am not a very sitting there type of person. Really not! I told them ‘nothing.’ In a quiet tone of voice.

They kept on asking – repeatedly.

Some tried to make me happy by doing small favors and by just being nice.

Nothing helped.

I was thinking that maybe I was a little burnt out from school and work and the like and that was what was making me so out of it. Obviously vacationing was a necessity. But I couldn’t seem to muster up enough energy to do any intense research to make plans.

I did not feel like eating. I couldn’t sleep. And my constant headaches were making me dizzy.

Then I began a lucid moment which made me think I may be depressed. But I am not that type and exercise is supposed to help. I didn’t.

I began doing some research.

Intense research and this is what I discovered:

A magnesium deficiency would cause the following:

§  Inability to sleep or insomnia

§  Irritability

§  Sensitivity to noise

§  Mental disturbances

§  Anxiety, depression or restlessness

§  Muscle soreness or spasms

§  High levels of stress

§  Headaches

§  Heart “flutters” or palpitations

§  Fatigue or unusual tiredness

§  Coldness in extremities

§  Fuzzy brain or difficulty concentrating

§  Allergies and sensitivities

§  Lack of appetite

§  Back pain

§  Body odor

§  Bad short term memory

§  Poor coordination

§  Carbohydrate cravings

§  Constipation

§  Frequent cavities or poor dental health

What clinched it were my cavities – I had just gone to the dentist and was horrified that even though I really take good care of my teeth the amount of cavities I had was unbelievable.

My research uncovered something else very interesting – that although I may be taking supplements but if its combined with calcium intake than it would bind with it and not get digested properly. Unless it’s in a 2:1 ratio. Another interesting point was the fact that a magnesium deficiency would be hard to detect since people have a low concentration of magnesium in the blood. It takes about two weeks for your body to be back to normal and I am looking forward.

Another solution that may expedite your good health is to take a bath with a cup of Epsom salt since that is one way your body can absorb it.

Please let me know if you have any questions or comments and I will respond to them!

Leave a Reply

