Can EXTREMES be good?

So I am one of those people who don’t feel warm I feel HOT! I don’t feel cool I feel Frozen.

I don’t like people or dislike someone – I love or hate them.

It’s weird.

I know.

Like yesterday we had an ‘emergency’ where a patient came to see a doctor who doesn’t come in on Mondays. I found it highly humorous.

Unfortunately she did not and repeatedly bonked herself on her head.

“Don’t do that, I mean it probably hurts,” I told her her.

That was when she had a little hysteria attack, and that was when I decided I no longer liked her that much. I mean till then she was wonderful. (As in -was never rude or obnoxious). She began yelling screaming and crying telling me, “But you told me…”

“Honey, I did not tell you anything since I do not make reminder calls. I can guarantee no one called you since this particular, Doctor- Never comes today.” I replied in a calm voice.

This only exacerbated the situation and I therefore did not allow her in the clinic although I her therapist had to come out to speak to her.

Although the situation was stressful, I found it highly amusing, the way she totally lost it.

My car needed the timing belts replaced. Last night straight from work I dropped it off at the mechanic. With no car at my disposal I had to get a ride to work today and while I was at work I was informed that my car was ready.

My co-worker (yes, the one who is the worlds kindest person) offered to drive me, it involved her leaving work (swiping out- thereby losing $) driving me to my mechanic. When we got there she was like “This is a terrible neighborhood, I am not leaving until you are safely in your car.” So she waited around for me while I paid the mechanic and left.

Her kindness was overwhelming. And while I kept on thanking her she informed me, “Oh- it was absolutely nothing, don’t mention it.”

Some people say that and then they mean they expect me to be their indentured servant for the rest of their lives, and to constantly sing their praises. But seriously she forgot it, and when she left for the day, I thanked her again, and she was looked puzzled for a second until she remembered again. She had truly forgotten.

She is EXTREMELY nice.

6 comments on “Can EXTREMES be good?

  1. G. k says:

    i was wondering, cz i saw your car in the parking lot at work but you had told me you didnt have a car in the morning lol so i was like, ‘thats weird there’s a car that really REALLY looks like yours’
    glad its all fixed up 🙂

  2. zachomelian says:

    Extremes can be really bad for you!!! Someone as impatient as yourself, it can be potentially very dangerous. Now you may be asking how is that so, I’ll tell you. Imagine driving down the road, some idiot in front of you slams on the brakes seemingly for no reason, then turns. You start beeping, screaming, or even cursing the other driver out, for not using the blinker. The driver turns around, and you recognize the driver. You know him. Before this incident happened you, neither liked or disliked this individual. Now you hate him. As you noted in article ”Lots of things are commonly over exaggerated” come nightfall you have forgotten the story. Now you hate this person, for not using the blinker, come tommorrow you wont even rememeber why!!! To much hate in one individual is bad for them. It leads to stress, anxiety, nervous breakdowns and many more issues. Which you very well aware of. End of the story is, you have to find a balance.

    • tbree1 says:

      What about extremes in moderation?
      And another thing, you are making this supposition hinged on the fact that you are still mad at him but you forgot why. What about if you completely forget the incident and the fact you are mad at him.
      This is highly probably. Try to keep all options opened.

  3. zachomelian says:

    Of course it is a probability, but dont forget the word HATE. Hate is an extreme. Extreme emotion isn’t forgotten overnight.As Sigmund Freud defined hate “as an ego state that wishes to destroy the source of its unhappiness”.Also, the Penguin Dictionary of Psychology defines hate as a “deep, enduring, intense emotion expressing animosity, anger, and hostility towards a person, group, or object.” Because hatred is believed to be long-lasting, many psychologists consider it to be more of an attitude or disposition than a temporary emotional state. The reason you would have forgotten the minor incident regarding this person not using a blinker, you yourself say “But if you put it in perspective in the scheme of life it’s NOTHING.”

    • tbree1 says:

      LoL- too true. However, that still does not completely explain why I forgot this non-existent scenario. If anything it makes it more enigmatic. And although you did add in the scheme of life its nothing- you are only contradicting yourself.

Leave a Reply

