And you think you’re being healthy!

I was in the mall, with a friend. That was when it struck me. I must have sunglasses-yesterday!

I mean I had a pair but they were too big and they made my nose feel sweaty. So we went into a store and began trying lots of pairs on.

Throughout the whole time I was a tad neurotic about the UV protection thing. Insisting that I would not even try them on if they weren’t.

“Otherwise,” I explained, “that I may as well be wearing none”

“Not necessarily.” My friend said.

“True, but if its not UV protected its even worse for your eyes. Because sunglasses will make your pupil even bigger while allowing more sunlight into your eyes if you weren’t wearing anything, your pupil will automatically get smaller.”

UV radiation from the sun can damage not only the skin of your eyelid but also  other parts of the eye. UV exposure also contributes to the development of certain types of cataracts and macular degeneration.

So finally after trying a ton on we decided which ones looked the best on me. I walked out with two pairs. When we were already in the car I noticed only one had a UV protection sticker. The other one did not. Obviously, the one I liked better was the one without the Ultraviolet protection.

“Oh well, I guess I will have to wear those only indoors!” I said.

Then I decided I really did not particularly feel like doing that- so I decided to find out whether or not my eyes are getting protection.

The basic summary is- unless you have a UV meter (and no, this is something I don’t! ;). Usually an optometrist does. The easiest solution? Go the eye doctor and schedule an appointment for a checkup and bring along your sunglasses. Then casually get into a conversation about it. Guide the conversation so he offers to check it for you on his machine.

(Hypothetically you can also go into an eyeglass store and ask- but that would be too simple!)

Let me know how it goes! I am still awaiting my appointment. I will keep you posted 😉

Leave a Reply

